LIVE REVIEWS

FAIT ACCOMPLI 2015 WEB

BAD /// DREEMS, CAPTAIN COOK HOTEL, SYDNEY 13.11.2015
Self-described soul-punks Fait Accompli went on the attack with a frayed set that seemed to capture chaos in a Tupperware container. It was hard to pin down their sound, and it was a high tension performance that felt loose and unpredictable in a good way. They matched their sound with individual visual styles that seemed to borrow from any number of influences, and made for a great collective stage presence. Hats off to Skarlett Saramore on sticks, whose frantic patterns were relentless and potent.
http://themusic.com.au/music/livereviews/2015/11/16/baddreems-captain-cook-hotel-matt-macmaster/ /// Matt MacMaster

THE SMITH STREET BAND, THE FACTORY THEATRE, SYDNEY 24.12.2014
The Factory Theatre is a marvel of a venue. Once a working factory line, as the name suggests, it’s a homey little spot in the center of Marrickville with a warm, friendly atmosphere and incredible acoustics. There’s also a kick-ass selection of ciders on a regular basis, so brownie points given where brownie points due. As the sun started to set and the cars started rolling in, Sydney locals FAIT ACCOMPLI took to the stage to deliver their smokey, soulful brand of punk rock with a kinetic edge. Fast, fluid, and riddled with ingenuity, FAIT ACCOMPLI were an unexpected shock. Not a moment of their set let up, and their energetically powerful sound had me shamelessly dancing like nobody was watching within minutes.

Their studio material hasn’t wowed me quite the way their live performance did, but considering the effervescence of their onstage attitudes, I’m unsurprised. Every member of FAIT ACCOMPLI was in their own bubble of energy: First up, we have our vocalist and guitarist, Ray Lalotoa. Heavily dreaded with an outback style to him, he hopped around with vigour as he yelled and riffed away, seamlessly pulling himself in and out of ‘the zone’ as each song passed. Then there’s our bassist, the emo-hipster hybrid Brad Fitter. In true punk rock style, Fitter thrashed around the room and made the stage his playground. Last but not least, there’s our drummer, Skarlett Saramore. There’s little more I can say other than that she was a force of sheer brutality, relentlessly annihilating the ill-fated drum set that sat before her.
http://sfmedia.com.au/gig-review-sydney-the-smith-street-band-supports/ /// Matt Doria

DEAD KENNEDYS (USA), THE HI-FI, SYDNEY 05.10.2014
After a hot day in Sydney, the wind picked up and I just knew tonight’s gonna be killer at the punk rock show. The Aussie bands on the bill are all beside themselves as they get to share the stage with their idols, THE DEAD KENNEDYS, coming all the way from sunny California.

First up on the bill was Sydney three-piece, FAIT ACCOMPLI, which I am to believe, is French for accomplished fact. These guys go by the soul punk moniker, which I’m new to and it worked really well here.

At first there weren’t too many people at the front of the stage, but that soon changed after one song. The sound here was really loud when they took the stage. Maybe it was because of how close I am, but it’s funny to see the security guards all block their ears one by one, as if taking part in a Mexican wave.

The band really got into it and the sound seemed to improve. Female drummer, the beautiful Ms Skarlett Saramore, who reminds me of a young Demi Moore, could teach a few guys a thing or two about hitting the sticks. Taking her top off early set, Skar was playing at pretty fast speed in her defence. These guys were real tight musicians. The guitar work of Mr Ray Lalotoa, with his distorted solos accompanied by his punk yet soulful vocals really gave FAIT ACCOMPLI an edge. What I like about these guys is that their music was different, in the way they blend bout soul and punk together. This mash up of genres seems to come naturally to them.

The fourth song of the set started out soft but got into a really rocking beat, which got my head banging. FAIT ACCOMPLI really picked up the pace here and the last song of the set got the band thrashing out. Crowd favourites were the new single ‘End of the World’ and people power protest song ‘False Flags,’ which is very relevant to everything going on right now with our fucked up government.

Having never heard FAIT ACCOMPLI before I was happy that now I have and it just goes to show some great talent is in our own backyard.
http://sfmedia.com.au/dead-kennedys-supports-sydney-gig-review/ /// Matt Bolton

SEBADOH (USA), FACTORY THEATRE, SYDNEY 22.04.2014
Fait Accompli hit the stage with conviction and passion. Unknown to this reviewer, their set was blistering and intense. The first song took you on a journey that in itself seemed like a microcosm of your average tempestuous relationship; the troughs, the dizzying heights. Vocalist and guitarist Ray Lalatoa’s sweet, gentle vocals floated above the stormy undertow of frenetic bass, drum and guitar maelstrom that provided an interesting juxtaposition. Kind of like a good sweet and sour. The rest of their set flowed nicely and the energy barely let up. One to watch out for.
http://themusic.com.au/reviews/reviews-live/2014/03/27/sebadoh-factory-theatre-francesca-palazzolo/ /// Francesca Palazzolo

MY BYRON BAY RIOT, GREAT NORTHERN, BYRON BAY 23.03.2013
Later on, Fait Accompli took the stage without ceremony, greeting the crowd with a wall of melodic, staccato guitar sound underpinned by thrashy kick to snare combos and driving bass. Singer/guitarist Mr Ray projected a measure of mystery from underneath a wide-brimmed black hat while surprisingly soft vocals floated across a landscape of gutsy, punky, distorted guitar melodies. Suddenly kicking up the volume and squalling a vocal storm, repeating the phrase “i wanna know” into the microphone, Mr Ray proved his throat worthy of the mix of styles portrayed by a clearly unique act.

From song to song punk standards appeared to blend with surf, blues, soul and rock, leaving the listener with no room for boredom, but also very little leverage with which to understand the landscape of the Fait Accompli sound. Having one or two prior shows under my belt, or possibly a CD in my car pre-show, may have better prepared me for the intermingled and constantly shifting vibe of the act.

There were some impressive constants however, above and beyond the general and obvious talent of the members. Mr Stokes (bass) kept up the myth of the bassist; consistent, powerful and with a capacity for aural reliance, his bass throb throughout the night could not be missed.

To say Fait Accompli were an energetic act is something of a paradox. Mr Ray and Mr Stokes managed a few moves in their performance, making use of a nicely sized stage floor, but ultimately could not be described as being energetic, rather, atmospheric. However the unexpected but undisputed star of the show had to be Ms Skarlett, wielding her sticks with the kind of confidence, versatility, flair and power expected of top international acts. Her unfailing energy and charisma left the audience breathless and cheering for more.

Overall the Fait Accompli performance left nothing to be desired; entertaining, atmospheric, energetic and interesting all at once. Yet somehow the mix of mild and massive left me craving a more consistent sound. On the other hand, I may well have just been selfishly wishing they played a few more songs.
http://heavyandwierd.wordpress.com /// Ariana Pelser

MUM, WORLD BAR, SYDNEY 02.11.2012
Super tight pop punk with infectious, melodic hooks. Despite my long term Accompli appreciation, I’d never actually seen these guys live before. Highlight of the night!
http://www.onetrickpony.tv /// Poppy Galloway

SUGAR ARMY ALBUM LAUNCH, GOOD GOD, SYDNEY 18.10.2012
Kicking off the show was locals Fait Accompli which are a magnificent mix of garage rock and indie rock. The howling vocals and the furious drum beats created such a sound in the tiny room, there was a need to take a break outside. There are no negatives in the how loud they were; it felt like they needed to be that loud, any softer the band could sound drowned out by each other.  The drumming was like watching a seasoned metal drummer and perfectly backed up by the intense strumming by bassist. The frantic strumming and virtuosos of guitarist was something to be astounded by. Definitely watch out for Fait Accompli in the future years.
http://alternativemusichub.com

643953_10151159593477530_1005713806_n

STAMPING GROUNDS FESTIVAL, SYDNEY 30.09.2012
Fait Accompli get extra points straight away for playing with hangovers, and no sleep. They describe their sound as ‘soul punk’, which may be the most unexpected combination of genres ever, but it explains them better than I can. The group had a very natural presence on stage, and actually spoke to the audience which is always a plus. The highlight of their set was their supremely badass drummer, Ms Skarlett, who pulled focus with her savage playing even though I couldn’t hear her backing vocals. They did have a strong connection with each other, which made them fun to watch.
http://www.theaureview.com /// Emily Booth

ANNANDALE HOTEL, SYDNEY 20.07.2012
Fait Accompli have a new EP which was cause for the night’s party. The current line-up compared to past incarnations has leant itself to a heavier sound overall thanks to a massive rhythm section, in particular drummer Skarlett’s punishment of the skins. All was on display in spades and although it’s going to take some getting used to the new songs, the crowd reaction to newbie No Great Expectations showed the wait won’t take that long.
DRUM MEDIA /// Adam Wiliding

BEACH ROAD HOTEL, BONDI 07.12.2011
I was going to say something about the bassist from The Deer Republic’s mad afro but lead singer from Fait Accompli Mr Ray, took the coolest hair/head ensemble to a whole other level. In saying this however, a more important and even more impressive aspect of this local tattooed clad three-piece is their music. It’s like a combination of old Queens of the Stone Age and The Jesus Lizard. The only bad feeling that swept over me during this set was the remorseful moment when I realized it took me 5 years to learn of their existence in Sydney. One of the many songs that really stood out was new single ‘No Fool’, which has this simple yet transfixing bass line, matched with a few spine tinglingly good guitar solos by Mr Ray himself, in between his own ultra cool and relaxed punk vocals.
BEACH ROAD BLOG /// Jemma Cole

w-NEW YORK DOLLS @ MANNING BAR 15.10.2011
After a break FAIT ACCOMPLI hit the lights just before 9pm and by this time the crowd was starting to swell and a special night was brewing. FAIT served up a scrumptious serving of soulful punk that wowed the punters. Miss Scarlett behind the kit gave the skins a real hammering and shows herself on the drums as a real star in the making. Her ability and engaging nature behind the kit make this band a when, not if proposition when it comes to success. The band even gave away their new double -sided single On a Blue Day/Aint No Fool for FREE. I can tell you that these tunes will be in my CD Stacker for some time. FAIT ACCOMPLI was the support of the night and provided the perfect platform and vibe the STRAIGHT ARROWS who where next up to take over.
SLUDGE FACTORY /// Pete Dimmo 


MY FILTHY RIOT FESTIVAL, ANNANDALE HOTEL 21.03.09

Riding just below the Triple J Radar, Fait Accompli mirrored early At The Drive-In as drummer/vocalist Mr Ray showed his melodic and rhythmic sides. Lost In The City opened the packed room’s ears, but it was the seemingly spontaneous dynamics and accents from both guitarists that crawled in and stayed. A hard act to follow if any…
DRUM MEDIA /// Mathew Cheetham

HOMEBRAND FESTIVAL, ANNANDALE HOTEL 25.01.2009
…But it was Fait Accompli who took the gong for the best act at the festival in terms of a harsher, rockier sound – of course. This band continues to be AMAZING. NO kudos however to the drunk punter who decided to stage crash – keep your rock’n’roll in your pants, buster! They even did a cover of Neil Young’s “Hey Hey My My.” Cream!
MUSIC FEEDS /// Anna Solar Besset

COME TOGETHER FESTIVAL 07.07.2008
Speaking of drummers, Fait Accompli offered excitement back in the Filth Stage. Drummer ‘Mr. Ray’ infected the Nirvana-on-(even more)-heroin punk sound that this act carved out with just a little reggae touch of groove and funkaliciousness. This intense show was the full force of what good music should be: transcendental and able to take the listener away to somewhere altogether better. Sheer raw punk from Sydney has not offered so much for a while. Second of the three best acts for the day.
FASTERLOUDER /// ASB123

SANDRINGHAM HOTEL 12.07.2007
CALL THE MEDIC CALL THE NURSE!!, OHANA, FAIT ACCOMPLI, GHETTO PUSSY, GHOSTS OF GARBAGE ISLAND
Forming just over eight months ago after several beers and blokey banter about starting a band, Fait Accompli are probably one of the most promising bands to emerge from Sydney in a long time. In drummer/vocalist Mr Raymond they have a rock star in waiting. Sounding somewhere between Kurt Cobain and Kele Okereke from Bloc Party, Raymond can play drums and sing with pop precision. There’s a whole lot of potential here.
SYDNEY MORNING HERALD METRO READER REVIEW /// Jane Gazzo

SANDWICH CLUB @ CANDYS APARTMENT 22.03.2007
FAIT ACCOMPLI, CHEQUERED LEOPARDS, PAPA VS PRETTY
I hate it when I don’t write about a gig right after as I never remember what I really wanted to write. Thursday night saw me trek back to the Cross for Sandwich Club’s monthly good times party. I didn’t stay the entire night which sucked as I missed Fait Accompli. I have it on good authority that they put on a great show and that they are one of Sydney’s most promising young bands. So keep your eye out for future shows.
A REMINDER /// Sean

MYSYDNEYRIOT @ SPECTRUM 02.02.2007
DIE! DIE! DIE!, FAIT ACCOMPLI, TALONS
Fait Accompli were up next, and although I have seen them before and think have definately played better, they were highly entertaining, especially playing to a packed house of, by this stage, drunken loats, who, I assume, were unfamilar with their songs.
POLAROIDS OF ANDROIDS /// Sir Android

SPECTRUM 18.11.2006
TEMPER TRAP, YOUNG + RESTLESS, FAIT ACCOMPLI
Finally, Fait Accompli, and up and coming Sydney band showed that their were worthy of what one would imagine to be a fairly highly coveted third support slot. Picture a prog-rock version of a Bloc Party styled Radiohead cover band doing originals, and your not much closer to knowing what they sound like. But they were terrific all the same. Ray on the drums/vocals was undoubtedly the star of the show, and had the audience transfixed at his impressive multi-tasking.
POLAROIDS OF ANDROIDS /// Sir Android

BLOGS: 

SHUT UP AND DANCE REVIEW 23.07.2007
Their live show is getting good reports. This song shows potential with its driving bass and Kings of Leon vibe in the chorus.
3/5
TRIPLE J UNEARTHED /// Richard Kingsmill

SANDWICH CLUB 20.03.2007
Fait Accompli have carried out an enormous blitzkrieg on the music scene in the last few months with a gourmet shopping list of impressive gigs coming off a surge of spicy hype. Fresh from their MTV appearance on The Lair these lads are ready to suck you in and feed you their deep purple garage, tribal rock punch that permeates your earlobes upon your first taste. Don’t worry, The Sandwich Club team will be there to conjure an excuse for being unable to move at work the next day.
Stuey

GET BIG LITTLE KID 07.03.2007
Just like the coolkids at Sandwich Club, we were mighty impressed with local upstarts Fait Accompli when we saw them at MTV’s The Lair a couple of weeks back. There were a whole lotta “Who the hell are these guys?” being muttered that evening, and made at least one blogger keen to hear some more. Thanks to the Jager Uprising showcase at The Annandale tonight (with apologies about the late notice), I will get my chance. It’s free entry and if you’re in the area, you should head on over for a night of brooding rock at its rawest.. and loudest.

What’s more, a new hot off the press CD will be on sale at the show. Not quite an LP or a EP, the 7-tracker will be titled It Is What It Is, and will include hot track “Ride” that was recorded at the previously mentioned MTV do.
Geoff

SANDWICH CLUB 02.03.2007
Having only formed around 6 months ago, this band is still far from a literal fait accompli. While they claim their sound is ‘a landscape of emotional ideas which cascade between feelings of love, loss and towering strength’, I suspect this may just be an excuse for a new band still trying to settle on a preferred style – a common yet exciting predicament.
Personally, I’m hoping they favour their floating rock sound employed on Ride, one of my favourite songs out of Sydney this year.
Tom

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s